Wood carving at the Mead Art Museum

Wood carving, 7.9.17

Wood carving, 7.9.17

This is my first pencil drawing in a while – aside from some gestures I did in February, I don’t think I’ve done a purely pencil drawing since last February.

This time, I was sketching at the Mead Art Museum, which has a Sunday Sketch program this summer. I ended up in the Rotherwas Room, which is this really cool relocated room from an English country house in the early 1600s. There are a bunch of carvings all over the room, & this was a small one near a door. I visited this room maybe a year ago with a friend & I’ve been wanting to head back since then, thinking it might be fun to try & draw some of these carvings.

 

 

Leave a Reply

