Sepia dog

Sepia dog, 2.29.16

Sepia dog, 2.29.16

I asked a few friends for animals to draw last night, & this is the first I chose to draw – a dog! Specifically, a “mixed breed dog” was requested. I’m not sure if this was a mixed breed, but there you go.

This one was pretty tricky for me because of all the fur, and I had a hard time with the head & the paws & the shading. Again, I need to really study animal anatomy. Maybe I’ll start doing that this week.

The dog’s kind of unfinished, I guess, but I’m struggling with how much detail to put in & how much to leave out. Especially with the fur. So for now, I’m leaving it as is, and will possibly move on to the next requests – a cat & a Rottweiler.

7 thoughts on “Sepia dog

Leave a Reply

