Horse & fox in ink

Running Horse, 2.21.16

Running Horse, 2.21.16

I decided to return to inky animals this weekend, something that’s been pretty satisfying for me so far. The horse above was definitely a challenge – the pose, the angle, and the fact that I’ve never drawn a horse before!

Overall, I’m happy with it as a first attempt. I had a lot of difficulty with the head, but I think it works pretty well. There are other things that I like but I think could definitely be improved. The anatomy is better than I thought it would be, but it’s also a bit wonky in parts. I reeeeaaaaallly need to study animal anatomy. Whenever I do anatomy drawings, I think it’s a bit boring to post on here, but oh well! I’ll try to make up for it with doing some other drawings during the week.

I know, I know, I haven’t been posting regularly. I’m sorry! I’m still going to try to stick to my New Year’s goal of 2-3 posts per week. And it’s a new week, & I’m already starting off strong, so there’s my encouragement. I swear I haven’t been lazy. It’s just that I’ve been spending a lot of my free time playing & writing & studying music, which is awesome, but I also really miss drawing!

Anyway! I also tried my hand at a red fox:

Red Fox, 2.21.16

Red Fox, 2.21.16

I love foxes! So adorable. I didn’t purposely skip over this one’s paws – they were just obscured in the photo (a convenient excuse, I know). I also had trouble with the fox’s body, much like with the horse above. The angle made his back half look a little odd to me so I’m not sure I portrayed that as well as I’d like. I like this one for the most part, however. Maybe not the back legs… But I like his face!

These were both done roughly in pencil first, by the way. Maybe once I work up my nerve I’ll attempt something with ink only.

11 thoughts on “Horse & fox in ink

  1. Nice!

    My current animal sketch challenge is sketching goats. Have you ever tried? We have five goats, two of who are pregnant and will be having babies at the end of the month. I am excited to draw them, but can’t quiet get it. Your animals are inspiring.

    Like

    • No, I’ve never tried goats, but I should – they’re such fun animals. And baby goats are incredibly cute! I hope you’ll have fun with them, & I’ll keep an eye out for them if you post them on your blog!

      Like

      • There will be many, many baby goat sketches and pictures, for sure! They are really fun, but tricky for me to draw for some reason.

        Thanks for following along with my blog! I hope it is inspiring 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

