Outing to a natural history museum! Dinosaurs! Saber-toothed Tigers!

Triceratops Skull, 1.31.16

Triceratops Skull, 1.31.16

I met up with that local sketching group this past weekend, & this time we went to a natural history museum. That meant lots & lots of bones & fossils! I’m a little rusty when it comes to drawing bones, so this was great practice.

I’ve been thinking a lot about dinosaurs lately, so of course I started with this giant Triceratops skull. The shading was really tricky – I think I need to try another approach. I was looking at some of the other sketchers’ drawings & hopefully can learn a few things from them.

Smilodon skeleton, 1.31.16

Smilodon skeleton, 1.31.16

And here we have a Smilodon (saber-tooth tiger) – because there were soooo many bones to draw, I tried to simplify it as best I could – like with the neck & spine in particular. I think I had some success with that. The whole thing’s a little shaky, but not too bad.

Doing all this reminded me that I really need to get back to studying anatomy! Look forward to more bones in the future!

2 thoughts on “Outing to a natural history museum! Dinosaurs! Saber-toothed Tigers!

Leave a Reply

