I believe this is my first figure drawing on this blog

Just a drawing of a man, 8.12.15 & 8.13.15

Just a drawing of a man, 8.12.15 & 8.13.15

In all of my anatomy stuff lately, I haven’t actually done any figure drawing on this blog yet.  I have actually drawn people before, but I guess I can’t remember the last time!  So, whew, got that out of the way.  Observe my person in all his glory.

So, I have mixed feelings about this one, like all of my drawings.  I think the mixed feelings are fair – it’s how I improve, right?  It’s good to recognize both the good and the bad.  So, the good:

  • I like some of the shading that I did (also, I used a different scanner today & the shading is a tad darker than what it actually is – whereas the other scanner tends to be a little washed out – I wish I could find the perfect scanner &/or setting), particularly in the face & torso.
  • Although my knowledge of anatomy is still pretty basic, I was able to recognize a few things that were going on (but not really with the muscles yet).
  • I’m not sure, but I don’t think my proportions are too off – maybe the legs are a bit, but overall, he doesn’t look too weird.
  • I like how some of my muscle/muscle shading turned out – not all, but some.
  • I did attempt some of the veins on his arms & hands, & I think that helped the drawing overall.
  • I like his face!

The not-so-good:

  • His face is not quite accurate with the photo reference! (If I can find a copy of it later, I’ll post it)  And it should be tilted down a bit more.
  • My knowledge of anatomy is still pretty basic.  I was mostly going by observation without really knowing what was happening underneath.
  • His feet, ugh.  Now that I think of it, I’m not sure if I’ve ever drawn feet without shoes on – isn’t that crazy?
  • His hands – the hands got a little better when I tried add some shading & the veins, but they still look weird to me.  I think that’s partly because this drawing is relatively small.
  • I think he’s a bit stiff looking.  The pose in the photo was also a bit stiff, but my drawing is even more stiff.  I think I should have tried for more gesture when attempting this – maybe next time.

Overall, I think it’s a good first try (or, first in a while) & nothing to beat myself up over, ha ha.  It gives me more motivation to keep learning anatomy, actually attend a figure drawing session, & draw more people because I really should be doing that.

This doesn’t qualify as my life drawing this week, though, since it’s from a photo – I’ll probably get to that this weekend.

6 thoughts on “I believe this is my first figure drawing on this blog

  1. This is a wonderful first try!!! I think especially his feet are great, for feet are such a hard thing to draw. You did a great job on this!!! And you should be proud of it! Can´t wait to see your next drawings and progress!!! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

