Weekend Preston Blair and Construction Drawings

Preston Blair Drawings, 8.2.15

Preston Blair Drawings, 8.2.15

So!  I’ve actually been doing some drawing since my last post.  What I’ve been working at lately is just simple construction drawing (simplifying characters into shapes), which is why I’ve been working from the Preston Blair book.  The page above is from yesterday, and although there are still some crummy drawings in there, I feel like I’m starting to get back into the swing of things.

I also looked at some online tutorials (for instance, this Lackadaisy Cats tutorial) and applied this to trying to draw some Disney, Looney Tunes, etc. characters.  Unfortunately a lot of those drawings were done quickly & in a very light pencil, so scanning didn’t quite work out.  Here are a couple of them that I was able to darken enough in Photoshop – Abu from Aladdin & Dopey from Snow White:

Abu Construction, 8.1.15

Abu Construction, 8.1.15

Dopey Construction, 8.1.15

Dopey Construction, 8.1.15

Obviously, these are very quickly done, very sketchy, & not finished drawings!  But it was helpful just to do these quick exercises to get a feel for drawing characters from shapes.

That’s all for now!  I’m probably going to continue working on these, but I’ve also been itching to try some pen & watercolor stuff, as well as getting back to working on the human figure, and, well, lots of other things.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Preston Blair and Construction Drawings

Leave a Reply

