Royal Guard in Denmark

Royal Guard in Denmark, 7.4.15

Royal Guard in Denmark, 7.4.15

This is a small drawing I did on Saturday of the Royal Guard in Denmark from a picture I took at Amalienborg Palace in Copenhagen.  The scanner unfortunately misses some of the lines if they’re not quite dark enough – I might try experimenting with settings, or perhaps another scanner, at some point.  I try to darken it a little in Photoshop, but that doesn’t always work.

Anyway, I got a bit lazy when it came to the background, but overall, I’m relatively pleased with this.  Since it was a small drawing, I was trying to not get too detailed with it, & I think I especially like the face on the guard facing us.  And I kind of like the fuzzy hats.

Things I’m not as happy with: the background, shoes, pants, the shadows in the folds of their coats.  The ground is sort of a stone mosaic type of pattern and I just didn’t bother trying to draw it.  I’m not even sure how to go about it – I don’t want to get too detailed, but I’m not sure how to show just enough that you can tell what it is.  I’ve had that same problem with drawing houses with things like shingles, etc.

2 thoughts on “Royal Guard in Denmark

Leave a Reply

