A couple bad mannikins & some gesture drawings

Andrew Loomis Mannikin, 4.14.15

Andrew Loomis Mannikin, 4.14.15

Hoo boy, I chose a couple difficult positions for my mannikin drawings last night.  I only did two – I had so little time, so it generally seems like on those kinds of nights, focusing on these &/or gestures is a good idea.  Anyways, it was a bit rough.  Some obscured limbs, not really seeing the shapes of the figure properly, etc.

Andrew Loomis Mannikin, 4.14.15

Andrew Loomis Mannikin, 4.14.15

This one was even worse, particularly with the hands/arms & that right leg.  And the torso.  Urgh.  It looks like his spin is coming from his shoulder.

But then I moved onto gestures, & I’m a little bit more happy with these.

Gesture Drawings, 4.14.15

Gesture Drawings, 4.14.15

Gesture Drawings, 4.14.15

Gesture Drawings, 4.14.15

Gesture Drawings, 4.14.15

Gesture Drawings, 4.14.15

I’m actually particularly pleased with this bottom one on the right – it was a difficult pose, & I was really focusing on trying to get the foreshortening looking decent.  Not perfect, but better than usual, I think!

One thought on “A couple bad mannikins & some gesture drawings

Leave a Reply

