Crocuses in ink & watercolor; plus, Mu in watercolor

Crocuses in Pen & Watercolor, 4.2.15

Crocuses in Pen & Watercolor, 4.2.15

I found some crocuses while taking a walk during my lunch break yesterday & took some photos.  Last night I decided to try & do another ink drawing & then color it in with watercolors & those crocuses were the subject.  I sketched it out in light pencil again, then outlined in Micron pen, & (a more simplistic outline than I did with Mu yesterday), & then colored it in with watercolors.

I think it came out ok, but I’m kind of meh about it.  I think I probably could have done a better job if I’d stuck with pencil, or even just pen.    I just need to practice a lot more with watercolors, I guess.

I also decided to color in my cat, Mu:

Mu in Pen & Watercolor, 4.2.15

Mu in Pen & Watercolor, 4.2.15

I’m not totally pleased with it – in fact, I think I prefer the original ink drawing – but I also like this better than the crocuses!  But again, I just need to learn more about watercolors.  Her true coloring doesn’t really show in this drawing/painting – she’s got a lot of grays, black, & browns in her, more than what I conveyed here.

So, that’s all for today.  I’ve got a busy weekend ahead of me, but I’ll be sure to get some drawing in & either post the results this weekend if I’m able, or on Monday.

2 thoughts on “Crocuses in ink & watercolor; plus, Mu in watercolor

Leave a Reply

