Mu the cat in pen

Mu in Ink, 4.1.15

Mu in Ink, 4.1.15

I bought a new pocket-sized sketchbook a couple days ago which I’m pretty excited about!  I broke it in with some doodling & little drawings that I haven’t bothered to post, but after my arm bone drawing last night I decided to try sketching out my cat Mu.  This was done in very light 4H pencil first, then gone over in a Micron pen to add some fur & stripes.

I was working from a photo instead of from life.  I’m pretty pleased with this although there are some things I wish I did differently – mainly her left leg, which looks a little too chunky, and I’m not sure her tail came out great, which you only see a little of since it’s tucked under her body.

Anyway, I’m thinking of adding color to this, probably watercolor, but I at least wanted to document the ink drawing before I potentially ruin it!  I’m really not too familiar with painting with watercolors yet, but I’m hoping that if I’m coloring a drawing, it might be easier for me than painting something from scratch.

4 thoughts on “Mu the cat in pen

Leave a Reply

