More Preston Blair skeleton foundations & a bunch more gestures

Preston Blair Skeleton Foundations, 3.31.15

Preston Blair Skeleton Foundations, 3.31.15

Last night was one of my late nights at work, so it’s generally a night when I don’t have as much time for drawing.  For that reason, I decided to go with a few more Preston Blair cartoon animals so it wasn’t too time consuming.  But I’m really feeling conscious of the fact that I haven’t done any life drawing in quite some time.

Two more – a wolf & a rabbit, blissfully ignorant of each other.  Maybe I should have switched their positions.

Preston Blair Skeleton Foundation, 3.31.15

Preston Blair Skeleton Foundation, 3.31.15

Then I went to work on some more gesture drawings.  I started off doing 60-90 second poses, but was struggling.

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

I guess they’re not awful, but maybe I was just struggling with the reduced time.

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

At this point, I decided that since I was struggling with trying to get volume & proportions in there, I’d reduce the amount of time to 30 second poses to focus more on the gesture & force myself to move quickly & use less lines.  The one on the bottom right, below, is the first 30 second gesture.

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

And the rest of these are 30 second gestures:

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

Gesture Drawings, 3.31.15

While I’m still not totally pleased with these, I think doing 30 second gestures was a good idea for me.  I feel like I managed to capture the gesture a bit more on some when I didn’t have as much time to think.  So, I think I’ll try & do a mix when I do these – maybe start with 30 seconds for a little while & then move on to longer poses of about 90 – 120 seconds.

I should also note that while today is day one of my daily drawing in April, these drawings don’t count since they were done last night!  I’ll most likely be posting April 1st tomorrow.

Leave a comment