More Proko/Loomis heads; and, learning to draw from the imagination

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.7.15

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.7.15

This isn’t a huge post this time. I practiced a little more with the Proko/Loomis heads, so I’ll post those here.  Yesterday was quite busy – had to make a pizza dip for a potluck at work. And drawing is not actually my main squeeze – music is. I’ve been so busy trying to write stuff lately and getting my band up & running again.

Excuses, excuses, right?

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.7.15

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.7.15

I’m probably going to keep practicing with these for awhile, although I might not always post them.

One thing I wanted to sort of reflect on is drawing from the imagination. This is something I’ve always struggled with. I mentioned in another post that I started drawing when I was younger by copying other drawings that I liked. But when it came to coming up with my own characters & such, I was never any good at it. Even today I often feel like I’m at the same level I was when I was a kid.

It’s something I definitely want to improve at, and I have no idea how to go about doing that – so I think I just need to keep practicing, while continuing to try & improve my drawing from life, grasp of anatomy, etc.

With music, there was a period of time when I was younger when I felt I needed to have a really firm grasp on all aspects of music theory and be really technically accomplished at my instrument before I would be any good at writing music.

This is totally false.  I mean, punk rock, right?  I think it’s vitally important to be creative and write (or draw, in this case) as soon as possible, no matter what your level is.  That’s how you develop your own voice.

At least, I’m hoping this holds true with drawing and art!

With that being said, here’s a little cartoon of a cutesy wolf I did earlier this morning:

Wolf cartoon, 1.8.15

Wolf cartoon, 1.8.15

It might not seem like much, but it’s somewhat better than what I usually do.  I intentionally went with something relatively simple, based on things I’d seen in the past.  It’s a starting point.

So, one of my goals over the next year is to really improve at this, and hopefully by the end of the year, I’ll look back at this little wolf and see some improvement.

Leave a Reply

