Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

 

Yesterday I mentioned I might try watching some of those Proko videos, and I did – all of the “How to Draw the Head” videos (there are 4 of them).  He shows you how to draw the basic structure/shape of the human head at various angles following Andrew Loomis’ method.

It was pretty helpful, but I’m definitely going to have to practice this a lot more.  I’ve started using the Face & Expression Practice tool over at artists.pixelovely.com to try & start to apply this to real heads.

This one below was a bit rough, but I’m including it anyway – these are some of the first ones I tried after watching the first video:

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

I’m glad he posted the front & side view videos, as well as the one for extreme angles.  The head I drew on the bottom right looks like an insect man, but it’s supposed to be someone looking up.  I think I understand it a bit more though, after I watched some of the other videos.

Here are some more:

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

Trying to get some more “extreme” angles – people looking up, twisting their heads, etc.  I feel like I need to go buy a styrofoam ball, chop off the sides, & make my own Loomie to practice with.

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

Proko/Andrew Loomis Heads, 1.6.15

These final four were attempts I made on my own with reference photos at pixelovely.  I still don’t have a firm grasp on this…  One thing he didn’t go over was views of the head from the back, which is my 2nd head there.  I think you can tell that’s what it is, particularly since I added a rough nose in, but my oval at the back of the head doesn’t make any sense – it’s not like it migrates to the back of the head!  So, I just need to figure out how to do that a little better.

I think I might want to go back to basics & practice simple 3D shapes as well.  So, I guess you can expect more anatomy studies, Loomis heads, basic shapes, & Preston Blair cartoons!  However, I also haven’t done any still life type drawings in awhile – not since November, anyway.  There’s definitely a lot to practice!

Leave a Reply

