Preston Blair Skeleton Construction

Preston Blair Skeleton Construction, 1.4.15

Preston Blair Skeleton Construction, 1.4.15

Alright, these ones above are some of my weaker drawings.  But hey, when I set out originally, I said I would post both the good and bad, and so here I deliver!  It’s just motivation to improve, really.

So, with this exercise, you start off with a very basic stick-like skeleton foundation for the character, then build upon that.  It’s shown in a three step process – 1) skeleton, 2) add the basic shapes, & 3) add the details – like those learn-to-draw books I remember from when I was a kid.

Actually, when I was a kid, I didn’t use those books – the way I started to learn to draw was just drawing cartoons I liked right from the completed drawing.  Which I later realized wasn’t the best way to go about it – I had a decent eye so I could get it looking ok most of the time, but it’s not the right way to learn proportions, etc.

I think the first & second mice look especially awkward.  The cats look better to me, & the last cat & mouse are probably my favorites there.   Anyway, I think it’s a useful thing to practice.  I was first sketching out the basic shapes in a very light pencil, & then adding in the details with a darker pencil.

I did some more a little later today as well:

Preston Blair Skeleton Construction 2, 1.4.15

Preston Blair Skeleton Construction 2, 1.4.15

I think these turned out a little better.  So, now I’ll just need to figure out how to use these on my own, when I’m not just copying other drawings, ha ha.  Plus, I really need to learn some animal anatomy at some point.

EDIT: Updated with scanned images!

2 thoughts on “Preston Blair Skeleton Construction

Leave a Reply

