More Skulls! And some Blackwing 602s

Palomino Blackwing 602 Pencils

Palomino Blackwing 602 Pencils

It’s an exciting thing to receive a box of Blackwing 602 pencils for Christmas, isn’t it?  I also got a couple new sketchbooks and a great new pencil sharpener, so I’m good to go for awhile now.

To make up for the fact that I haven’t posted anything since December 9th, I did 4 new skull drawings today from Atlas of Human Anatomy for the Artist, since I’m still in skull land there (and will be for a little while longer). Just to let you know, since I’m on break from work right now, and that is where I scan my drawings, for now I’ll have to make do with my camera.  So without further ado, here is Skull #1:

Back of Skull drawing, 12.25.14

Back of Skull drawing, 12.25.14

This is the back of a skull, and this turned out… meh.  It’s ok, but after a certain point, I sort of got sick of drawing it, as you might be able to tell.  So the shading effort was minimal, and I felt slightly discouraged after it.

Here’s the 2nd drawing, which is a side view of a skull:

Side of Skull drawing, 12.25.14

Side of Skull drawing, 12.25.14

I think this one turned out a lot better.  I put a bit more effort into the shading, although I didn’t spend forever on it.  For some reason I had some difficulty with the teeth.  I think I made the mouth bigger, and then I had to increase the size of the teeth…  Well, I don’t think it looks too bad, though.

The 3rd drawing is a top view of a skull:

Top of skull, 12.25.14

Top of skull, 12.25.14

This one’s a little boring!  I did this one rather quickly.  So, on to the fourth:

Skull with features, 12.25.14

Skull with features, 12.25.14

I like this one too!  This is a skull with features laid over it.  I feel like I gave him a bit of a weak chin, compared to the original drawing, and the eye might be a bit off, but eh, whatever.  Either way, I think this was actually real helpful to see – to draw that original skull (my 2nd drawing today), and then to essentially draw it again, albeit a simpler version, and lay the face over it, helped put it all together for me.

EDIT: Updated with scanned images!

2 thoughts on “More Skulls! And some Blackwing 602s

Leave a Reply

