Paint Nite!

Paint Nite 11.24.14

Paint Nite 11.24.14

As promised, here is a somewhat crummy photo of a somewhat crummy painting I did at at one of those paint and sip nights that have become really popular around here.  For those who haven’t heard of them, it’s an event where there is a featured painting with a level of difficulty (ours was “easy”), an artist on hand to demonstrate how to paint it, and a bunch of people like me and my mother who are there to learn how to paint that particular painting.  And it’s held at a bar or restaurant or some sort of place where alcohol can be served – although, being the teetotaler that I am, I only had water.  The whole thing was about 2 – 2.5 hours and it was pretty fun!

The subject of the painting was two budding trees whose branches intersect to form a heart shape, along with two butterflies flitting around.  A little silly.  But, I don’t think I did horribly.  I thought I did initially, & I can see all sorts of faults with it (mostly with the branches not thinning out enough & being too stubby at the end), but all in all, it was a good experience!  I think we might do it again at some point.

2 thoughts on “Paint Nite!

  1. I don’t find this painting to be crummy at all. Only you might see the flaws but I find it to be an enjoyable experience. The fact that you enjoyed the experience of painting this is reflected within the painting.

    Like

    • Thanks! You know, I was just reading something that said you shouldn’t trash yourself – so I’m trying to not feel too badly about what I do in that way, & instead just be critical in a way that is helpful.

      My mother & I are thinking of going again this month or next – it is pretty fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

